Meatballs Italian Style

image

Spaghetti and Meatballs… The all-American Italian favorite. Almost everyone I know loves spaghetti and meatballs. And most everyone has their own recipe and technique when it comes to meatballs. Truthfully mine might never be the same twice. It depends on what I have in the refrigerator and pantry. Tonight’s meatballs were pretty good and I documented my steps so maybe, if I follow my own instructions, they will actually taste the same twice.

Ingredients:

1 pound ground chuck

1/2 cup seasoned breadcrumbs

1 large egg

1/4 cup grated Asiago cheese

1/4 cup fresh parsley chopped

1 T Worcestershire

1/2 medium onion finely chopped

2 cloves garlic minced

image

Preheat oven to 350. I bake my meatballs but you can fry them if you prefer.

Chop the onion, garlic and parsley.

image image

Combine all of the ingredients in a large mixing bowl and, using your hands, mix the ingredients just until they are combined. Don’t over mix.

image

It looks like there is more “stuff” than meat but when it’s mixed it’s perfect.

image

This recipe made 9 medium sized meatballs. I lined a baking dish with non-stick foil…one of the best inventions ever…and baked them for 20 minutes. I like to finish the cooking in my tomato sauce.

image image

I let them simmer for about an hour in my tomato sauce and served them over bucatini, a pasta that resembles a thick spaghetti noodle but has a hollow center. It’s a great pasta to serve with a rich thick tomato sauce.

image

Served with a cold crisp salad and a crusty baguette it’s a meal you’d be proud to serve you guests. My dad is a Finn who loves his spaghetti and he enjoyed dinner tonight.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

